Tuesday, September 7, 2021

prolifewhistleblower timeline.

Not really review other than to help sort a lot of iffy reporting I'm reading. Some of the formatting is od to make easier for copy / pasting.

On submitting reports:

First off there is a meme going around to use a VPN to submit fake reports. In the short term this might work but any IT department worth anything would block or at least flag any reports from known VPN IPs. So you need a botnet or to crowdsource. This guy did an app for submitting fake reports to make it easy to crowdsource but read on first. https://www.statesman.com/story/tech/2021/09/02/tiktok-iphone-code-fools-texas-abortion-whistleblower-site/5701760001/?utm_source=SND&utm_medium=Facebook&utm_campaign=statesman&fbclid=IwAR1Nk7c5-kt_TYRp8ap5JFArtc2xDg1XJCgtBlBYnwpupm_jJE29k_Sd0bU


Here is what I've sorted about the site. 

Status as of late on 9/3:

A lot of what is getting reported seems to be vague or wrong.  For instance the New York Times has used both prolifewhistleblower dot com and profilewhistleblower dot com. On 9/2 profilewhistleblower was basically a dead site with just a copyright notice.

The domain prolifewhistleblower dot com was registered at GoDaddy on June 7th. They moved the registration to Epik Holdings Inc on Sept 3rd. The prolifewhistleblower "site" was and is hosted at Sucuri which is a web security company. The prolifewhistleblower "site" seems to have a bad cert so maybe they are not good at it. But that might be by design too. eSet is blocking prolifewhistleblower as a possible "unwanted content" site. Probably because they appear to be a prefilter for websites. If you get past all that is redirects to texasrighttolife dot com. They claim there GoDaddy booted them so there was probably a hidden site hosted at GoDaddy that prolifewhistleblower originally redirected to so Sucuri could filter suspicious traffic. So they are probably gathering IPs submitting while the form is offline to filter with later.

texasrighttolife dot com is hosted at IP 66.85.248.21 which is at RightForge in Washington DC.

Ars Technica got it more right than most that referenced them. From their updates it sounds like the site moved hosting to Digital Ocean for a bit before I started digging.

Epik told the Daily Beast they do not want to host it either though they are still acting as register which many seem to mistakenly think is the same thing. So they may want to boot that as well.

Update 9/7/2021 about noon

The Washington Post was reporting the site was down for a second time.

https://www.washingtonpost.com/nation/2021/09/06/texas-abortion-ban-website/

I'm guessing they got the 404 because they tried a full URL instead of going the the site's top level. 

The domain is still registered at Epik Holdings Inc but as of 2021-09-04T04:24:02Z the domain points to a new IP 88.214.197.102 which is "hosted" at Overoptic Systems LTD DBM in the UK.  Though DNS appears set up for a site redirect to texasrighttolife.com so technically it is not hosted anywhere.

curl -v http://prolifewhistleblower.com

* STATE: INIT => CONNECT handle 0x800096238; line 1491 (connection #-5000)

* Added connection 0. The cache now contains 1 members

* STATE: CONNECT => WAITRESOLVE handle 0x800096238; line 1532 (connection #0)

*   Trying 88.214.197.102:80...

* TCP_NODELAY set

* STATE: WAITRESOLVE => WAITCONNECT handle 0x800096238; line 1611 (connection #0)

* Connected to prolifewhistleblower.com (88.214.197.102) port 80 (#0)

* STATE: WAITCONNECT => SENDPROTOCONNECT handle 0x800096238; line 1667 (connection #0)

* Marked for [keep alive]: HTTP default

* STATE: SENDPROTOCONNECT => DO handle 0x800096238; line 1685 (connection #0)

> GET / HTTP/1.1

> Host: prolifewhistleblower.com

> User-Agent: curl/7.66.0

> Accept: */*

>

* STATE: DO => DO_DONE handle 0x800096238; line 1756 (connection #0)

* STATE: DO_DONE => PERFORM handle 0x800096238; line 1877 (connection #0)

* Mark bundle as not supporting multiuse

* HTTP 1.1 or later with persistent connection

< HTTP/1.1 301 Moved Permanently

< Server: nginx/1.19.4

< Date: Tue, 07 Sep 2021 16:05:19 GMT

< Transfer-Encoding: chunked

< Connection: keep-alive

< Location: https://www.texasrighttolife.com/

< Content-Type: text/html

< Access-Control-Allow-Origin: *

<

* STATE: PERFORM => DONE handle 0x800096238; line 2067 (connection #0)

* multi_done

* Connection #0 to host prolifewhistleblower.com left intact

* Expire cleared (transfer 0x800096238)

profilewhistleblower dot com has added links to another Linode Network Operations server www6.profilewhistleblower.com which appears to be a parked, not yet set up subdomain. I would not be surprised if it ends up hosting a malware dropper.

At about 8PM 

The domain is resolving to the IP 185.255.121.2 which is back at Epik. still redirecting to texasrighttolife.


Monday, May 11, 2020

Java app code generators

What I'm trying to do

Clear back in 2005 I wrote my first app to get CRUD pages for a web app from a quick look a the DB metadata. I've done it again  many times since. Always with an eye to making my task easier instead of a generic app. Every time I first look to see if anyone has done somehting similar for the framework I'm using for that project but it always turns out the be easier to just write something myself than the tools I found. Since I've been doing a lot of stuff with containers lately I though it would be good to be able to quickly spin up POC apps for project demos so I'm looking at generators again.

For this POC I started with a simple SQLite DB with just 2 tables. Shows and Networks.

Options tried

The Eclipse market place just lists a couple and I heard about others. Really only Telosys in the market place seemed to be used by more than a few people.

Spring Initializr

Creates a basic project template but need classes created. There are lots of Spring Boot classes on Lynda.com though and it does give you a projects with most of the dependencies you might need.

Telosys

The plugin seems have a lot of downloads and the screen shots look promising but there appears to be no documentation at all. I messed with a bit but

JMR

It is from a Chinese developer and only downloaded 39 times so that is probably a deal breaker right there. On the other hand it at least has documentation to get you started. But it seems to be mainly a GUI for creating JSP style templates to gen code from so again not sure how much of a time saver it would be.

New JPA project

My first issue was I was using  Spring Tools 4.3 from a previous project and creating a JPA project was not even an option.

From the Eclipse Oxygen I tried it just hung creating the project. After about 30 minutes or so it FINALLY unstuck. I generated the beans  per the instructions and got something close. That step went pretty fast but for the overhead I do not see it as worth it for just a few tables.

While I was waiting to see if Oxygen would ever return I downloaded the latest Spring Tools 4.6. But again creating a JPA project is not a option. (Granted I could keep installing tools till I got something to work or it stopped working but the point was to find something simpler than just writing my own code.)

In the end it seems to do "OK" if you do not have (or at least tell it you have) association between tables. Even then though you need to tell it what class to use for every field or it makes them all Objects. It also seems to fail if you do not tell it the id field. So still probably as much trouble to config as to just create the POJOs by hand.

g9 Database Import

Another POJO generator. Does not support SQLite though.

Speedment

To start you use their initializer instead of the Spring Boot one.

It wants Maven 3.5.3 (release Feb 2018) or better to run so that meant a newer IDE.
Note the newer Eclipse zips seem to have an error in them which means you need to manually edit the config.ini or use the installer.

After installing and running the generate tool on the 2 tables with defaults settings I had 91 files generated. I had to "disable" some other tables left over from importing the sheets into the DB. That left me with 46 files for the 2 tables. Note rerunning the tools removes the files for the "disabled" tables. Unfortunately the rest interface it generates appears to be broken and just gives you 404s.

JHipster

The one class there was for it on Lynda.com can not be accessed via LinkedIn Learning. Not sure what is going on there but does not bode well. I wanted to look at it first but was turned off this. But after trying the above I decided to give it a try.
I followed these instructions for setup. Note when running the generator the docs are a bit out of step with what is on screen starting at step 13.
Note I was missing several things it needed and had to run
npm install rimraf -g
npm install webpack (note the missing -g as it expects it to be below the app folder)
npm install write-file-webpack-plugin
npm install webpack-merge
npm install browser-sync-webpack-plugin
npm install browser-sync
npm install webpack-notifier
npm install xml2js
npm install copy-webpack-plugin
npm install html-webpack-plugin
npm install rxjs
npm install merge-jsons-webpack-plugin
then run jhipster again. Fortunately it remembered where it errored out each time.
After all that the java code did not build
ERROR in Entry module not found: Error: Can't resolve 'angular2-template-loader' in 'D:\eclipse-jee-2020-03\workspace\BugTrackerJHipster'

ERROR in Entry module not found: Error: Can't resolve 'angular2-template-loader' in 'D:\eclipse-jee-2020-03\workspace\BugTrackerJHipster'

ERROR in Entry module not found: Error: Can't resolve 'style-loader' in 'D:\eclipse-jee-2020-03\workspace\BugTrackerJHipster'

ERROR in   Error: Child compilation failed:
  Entry module not found: Error: Can't resolve 'html-loader' in 'D:\eclipse-jee-2020-03\workspace\BugTrackerJHipster':
  Error: Can't resolve 'html-loader' in 'D:\eclipse-jee-2020-03\workspace\BugTrackerJHipster'

  - compiler.js:76
    [BugTrackerJHipster]/[html-webpack-plugin]/lib/compiler.js:76:16

  - Compiler.js:300 compile
    [BugTrackerJHipster]/[webpack]/lib/Compiler.js:300:11

  - Compiler.js:510 applyPluginsAsync.err
    [BugTrackerJHipster]/[webpack]/lib/Compiler.js:510:14

  - Tapable.js:202 next
    [BugTrackerJHipster]/[tapable]/lib/Tapable.js:202:11

  - CachePlugin.js:78 Compiler.<anonymous>
    [BugTrackerJHipster]/[webpack]/lib/CachePlugin.js:78:5

  - Tapable.js:206 Compiler.applyPluginsAsyncSeries
    [BugTrackerJHipster]/[tapable]/lib/Tapable.js:206:13

  - Compiler.js:507 compilation.seal.err
    [BugTrackerJHipster]/[webpack]/lib/Compiler.js:507:11

  - Tapable.js:195 Compilation.applyPluginsAsyncSeries
    [BugTrackerJHipster]/[tapable]/lib/Tapable.js:195:46

  - Compilation.js:680 self.applyPluginsAsync.err
    [BugTrackerJHipster]/[webpack]/lib/Compilation.js:680:19

  - Tapable.js:195 Compilation.applyPluginsAsyncSeries
    [BugTrackerJHipster]/[tapable]/lib/Tapable.js:195:46

  - Compilation.js:671 self.applyPluginsAsync.err
    [BugTrackerJHipster]/[webpack]/lib/Compilation.js:671:11

  - Tapable.js:195 Compilation.applyPluginsAsyncSeries
    [BugTrackerJHipster]/[tapable]/lib/Tapable.js:195:46

  - Compilation.js:666 self.applyPluginsAsync.err
    [BugTrackerJHipster]/[webpack]/lib/Compilation.js:666:10

  - Tapable.js:195 Compilation.applyPluginsAsyncSeries
    [BugTrackerJHipster]/[tapable]/lib/Tapable.js:195:46

  - Compilation.js:662 sealPart2
    [BugTrackerJHipster]/[webpack]/lib/Compilation.js:662:9

  - Tapable.js:195 Compilation.applyPluginsAsyncSeries
    [BugTrackerJHipster]/[tapable]/lib/Tapable.js:195:46

  - Compilation.js:605 Compilation.seal
    [BugTrackerJHipster]/[webpack]/lib/Compilation.js:605:8

  - Compiler.js:504 applyPluginsParallel.err
    [BugTrackerJHipster]/[webpack]/lib/Compiler.js:504:17

  - Tapable.js:289
    [BugTrackerJHipster]/[tapable]/lib/Tapable.js:289:11

  - Compilation.js:507 _addModuleChain
    [BugTrackerJHipster]/[webpack]/lib/Compilation.js:507:11

  - Compilation.js:390 errorAndCallback.bail
    [BugTrackerJHipster]/[webpack]/lib/Compilation.js:390:4

  - Compilation.js:413 moduleFactory.create
    [BugTrackerJHipster]/[webpack]/lib/Compilation.js:413:13

  - NormalModuleFactory.js:235 factory
    [BugTrackerJHipster]/[webpack]/lib/NormalModuleFactory.js:235:20

  - NormalModuleFactory.js:60 resolver
    [BugTrackerJHipster]/[webpack]/lib/NormalModuleFactory.js:60:20

  - NormalModuleFactory.js:191 asyncLib.parallel
    [BugTrackerJHipster]/[webpack]/lib/NormalModuleFactory.js:191:21

  - async.js:3888
    [BugTrackerJHipster]/[async]/dist/async.js:3888:9

  - async.js:473
    [BugTrackerJHipster]/[async]/dist/async.js:473:16

  - async.js:1062 iteratorCallback
    [BugTrackerJHipster]/[async]/dist/async.js:1062:13

  - async.js:969
    [BugTrackerJHipster]/[async]/dist/async.js:969:16

  - async.js:3885
    [BugTrackerJHipster]/[async]/dist/async.js:3885:13


error Command failed with exit code 2.
info Visit https://yarnpkg.com/en/docs/cli/run for documentation about this command.
error Command failed with exit code 1.
info Visit https://yarnpkg.com/en/docs/cli/run for documentation about this command.
error Command failed with exit code 1.
info Visit https://yarnpkg.com/en/docs/cli/run for documentation about this command.
If you find JHipster useful consider supporting our collective https://opencollective.com/generator-jhipster

Server application generated successfully.

Run your Spring Boot application:
 ./mvnw (mvnw if using Windows Command Prompt)
events.js:183
      throw er; // Unhandled 'error' event
      ^

Error: ERROR! webpack:build failed.
    at Environment.error (C:\Users\avata\AppData\Local\Yarn\Data\global\node_modules\generator-jhipster\node_modules\yeoman-environment\lib\environment.js:157:40)
    at module.exports.error (C:\Users\avata\AppData\Local\Yarn\Data\global\node_modules\generator-jhipster\generators\generator-base.js:2064:18)
    at module.exports.end (C:\Users\avata\AppData\Local\Yarn\Data\global\node_modules\generator-jhipster\generators\client\index.js:410:18)
    at Object.<anonymous> (C:\Users\avata\AppData\Local\Yarn\Data\global\node_modules\yeoman-generator\lib\index.js:399:25)
    at C:\Users\avata\AppData\Local\Yarn\Data\global\node_modules\run-async\index.js:25:25
    at new Promise (<anonymous>)
    at C:\Users\avata\AppData\Local\Yarn\Data\global\node_modules\run-async\index.js:24:19
    at self.env.runLoop.add.completed (C:\Users\avata\AppData\Local\Yarn\Data\global\node_modules\yeoman-generator\lib\index.js:400:11)
    at runCallback (timers.js:794:20)
    at tryOnImmediate (timers.js:752:5)



Tuesday, March 24, 2020

Review: Making water at home

Note I started this post to tell people about alternatives to bottled water but because of the SARS-CoV-2 (Covid-19) outbreak most of the items are already sold out. You might be able to find similar items though or after sanity comes back.

Mentioned in this post

Mophorn Water Distillers Countertop 4L BPA-Free Container 750W Digital Control Distilling Water Machine for Home with Handle Upgrade
BN-LINK 12 Hour Mechanical Accurate Countdown Timer with Grounded Pin - Energy Saving for Kitchen, Phone Charger, Lamps, Security 1875W, 1/2 HP, ETL Listed
ZeroWater (ZBD-040-1) 40 Cup Ready-Pour Glass Dispenser, BPA-Free, with Free Water Quality Meter, NSF Certified to Reduce Lead and Other Heavy Metals
Beverage Dispenser Replacement Spigot,Oak Leaf Stainless Steel Spigot Polished Finished, Dispenser Replacement Faucet
ZeroWater ZD-018 ZD018, 23 Cup Water Filter Pitcher with Water Quality Meter
ZeroWater Replacement Filters 12-Pack BPA-Free Replacement Water Filters for ZeroWater Pitchers and Dispensers NSF Certified to Reduce Lead and Other Heavy Metals
Etekcity Digital Handheld TDS Meter , +/- 2% High Accuracy, 0-9990 ppm (Blue)

Update 10/14/2021:
VEVOR Water Distiller, 1.1 Gal Distilled Water Maker, 4L Pure Water Distiller w/Dual Temperature Display, 750W Countertop Water Distiller, Distilled Water Machine for Home w/Plastic Container White

The issue

I'm on a well and the water that comes out of it is HARD as in averages in the mid 300s on a water purity meter AFTER going through the water softener. It also has Hydrogen Sulfide in it from time to time. So I store up water for the animals to use during the H₂S times. I was drinking mainly bottled water but hated all the extra plastic. (See my Drinking water post about testing the various brands and types. You will probably be surprised.( I bought a ZeroWater ZD-018 ZD018, 23 Cup Water Filter Pitcher with Water Quality Meter to try and avoid that but a filter was yielding me less than 9 gallons of water. Even buying the 12 pack of filters at $118 that comes out to over a dollar a gallon plus you have the filter to dispose of. Hard to say which has waste but the filters weight about 464 grams and a gallon water bottle about 70 grams. (Not including packaging.) Of course some of the filter weight is not plastic and it is compressed where the bottles will take some effort to get to the same size package and so on. Either way neither seemed like a good choice.

My setup

What I came up with

Step 1

I had decided on distilled water for bottled water from earlier testing I started thinking why not just distill the water? After reading reviews I figured out the base models are not very good. What you need is a model you can adjust the heat on and a timer to make sure it does not run dry. Here is the water I started with. It is hard to see but this is a relative soft batch at 284.



Starting with the review and then doing a bit of experimentation it appears the the temperature dial and readouts on the distiller might be off a bit. I set the dial right at 100C but it says it is cooler.


Then I set the timer for 3 hours. (Which is a good deal shorter than the 4 to 5 hours in reviews and still distilled almost all the water.) That gives me water purer than most of the bottled waters on the market.



This is what is left behind. I poured some of the less than 1/2 inch left in the boiling chamber into a beaker for this pic. That is 8260 on the meter! I did not notice till I was posting this the 10x indicator in the low left of the LED readout. Kind of shows why you do not want this to boil dry with a 320 degree auto shutoff like the base models do. Way too much of this ends up in your output.


Estimates were around 50 cents of electricity per gallon in review so it could be way cheaper too. I appear to be running it cooler and shorter than most so maybe even better.

Step 2 (optional)

You probably want something to hold s the water and possibly filter it. Which lead me to getting the ZeroWater (ZBD-040-1) 40 Cup. From the reviews the valve on this is junk so you will want an after market spigot too. This give me a 2+ gallon buffer ready to use water as pure as the distilled bottled water (zero on the meter) and the filters should last a long time since the water going in is pretty pure to start with I'm keeping tabs on how many gallons I get from a filter so we'll see if it is all worth it. More to come.

Update 9/18/2020 

After about 6 months I'm still very happy with this though I have put an upside down bowl (about 3 inches deep)  under the jug to raise it to lessen splashes escaping. Stopped using the distiller's carbon filters too given I run it through a ZeroWater. I think the carbon filters are only needed if you run the unit dry which my setup avoids and they tend to leave bits of carbon in the jug and ZeroWater reservoirs. Note making almost a gallon a day, I've still not needed to change the ZeroWater filters. I did clean out my smaller ZeroWater ZD-018 ZD018, 23 Cup Water Filter Pitcher with Water Quality Meter I was using to filter softened water when its filter needed changing. Between the 2 I can empty the whole jug in one go without waiting for the reservoir to empty. (The 40 cup's reservoir only holds about 4/5ths of a gallon. The 23 cup even less.) Given the price and rate I was going through those filters I'm sure the distiller is cheaper on top of less waste.

Something else you might find helpful is to add one of these Kichwit Dishwasher Magnet Clean Dirty Sign Indicator to the front. I set it to: 
  • Clean - when ready to go (I run it "off hours")
  • Running - when I set the timer to start a 3 hour run
  • Dirty - when I empty the jug till I have time to clean and refill the reservoir. 
After running it without refilling a couple times I figured the sign was well worth the $8.

Update 10/14/2021

Mophorns went out at about the same 9 month mark (~200 gallons) so I purchased a VEVOR Water Distiller the 3rd time. The first started cycling off and on while the second the heating element appears to have quit on so it might be possible to merge the two into one working one when I have the time. The Vevor is cheaper and has a digital control and read out and $40 cheaper. Assuming 50 cents in electricity and replacing every 200 gallons I'm looking at a dollar a gallon with the Vevor and again with a fair bit of waste if I have to toss it. I figure worst case I can give to Goodwill to repair or recycle. It also appears these are all basically the same so there is a fairly good chance I could use parts from one to fix another. I'm actually still using the same top cooler unit from the 1st distiller. Oddly the second Mophorn took ~3.5 hours to distill a gallon of water with about an inch left in the boiler will both the first Mophorn and the Vevor seem to do it in 3 hours. Interesting too that read out on the Vevor holds at 100 so maybe the temp control is not even needed. Just sort the run time to leave a bit in the boiler. In that case the cheapest unit (currently $75) might be fine.

Note I swapped out the jug for a beaker list a cover awhile back for something easier to clean. This worked will with the Mophorns.
Mophorn with beaker

The Vevor has the controls in the main unit instead of an add on base so it is much shorter requiring me to add a base on my own. If you use the jug it comes with it is not an issue of course.
Vevor with beaker














Thursday, January 16, 2020

Review:Firewalla

From the info on the website it appeared I could use the one feature of the Firewalla Blue I wanted. Something to monitor what things the devices on my IoT network are talking to and give me a notification if they try and connect to something unexpected. Essentially monitor if any device may have been co-opted and or is trying to co-opt. It did give me alerts for remote sites my Wyze cams, Echos and SmartThings hubs connected to along with every new device it saw. But the Firewalla seems to insist on inserting itself via arp spoofing and messes with DNS which caused all kinds of issues. Among the top things I noticed were:

Alerts from antivirus software about bad arp packets. That would be kind of expected but why it does this even with most of the features disabled is unclear. All this should need to do is log traffic like Wireshark and only need arp spoofing to try and stop traffic. Same with DNS.

Despite claims it works with Unifi it seems to have caused all kinds of issues with APs and switches not getting heartbeats to the controller and generally dropping data so the topology map was only showing a few devices and those all connected directly to the router. The client listing would often show the wrong AP/Port for a device.

Some security cams started having issues staying connected too. I'm to the point this morning I'm shutting it down so we'll see if the camera issues correct or were a coincidence. Update other than the Wyze cams, they did.

So if you are looking for something simple to monitor your home network of a few devices and the ISP provided router this might work well for you. If your network is at all advanced beyond basic, give it a pass.

Thursday, December 26, 2019

Acer Desktop Aspire TC TC-780-UR11 Intel Core i7 7th Gen 7700 (3.60 GHz) 8 GB DDR4 1 TB HDD Windows 10 Home


Newegg link

Stars: 2

Pros:

Good price for an 8th gen i7 PC.

Cons:

Can't run Linux
Even swapping the HD seems almost impossible
No visible POST
No display in BIOS menus of some basic values like installed RAM

Overall:

So far I managed to get the system to boot up with Windows on the HD is came with but when I tried to stick in another drive and install CentOS 7 on it I was surprised to find out I could not. Google CentOS and SpeedStep and TurboMode. Anyway I left it sit for awhile till I needed another Windows PC to upgrade my oldest Blue Iris server. For this one I want an SSD for the boot drive to match the other 4 servers but no go. Wasted almost 2 days not trying to get Windows 10 restored or install on the SSD but best case it finished with no network available and then crashes with Whea_Uncorrectable_Error when I try to login. Not that I could anyway because when you set up the PC if forces you to use your outlook.com login which requires the network. Other accounts are disabled so if you did not set one before you made the restore. I tried it one last time adding some local account and recreating the recovery USB but still could not even get to a login prompt.

I found conflicting info on whether or not is supports a M.2 SSD but this seems to confirm it does support some. But when I ran the tool they mention all I found was a max width of 1 which I gather would be as slow as the HD.

So I went back to the HD is came with (which works fine BTW) and added memory and a medium range graphics card like I used in the Dells. Unfortunately the graphics card requires a 6 pin power connector which this system also does not have.

So I broke down and ordered another Dell. I'll see about using it for something else later and update this then.

Wednesday, November 28, 2018

Samsung Gear 360 Real 360° High Resolution VR Camera (2016 version)


Samsung Gear 360 Real 360° High Resolution VR Camera

support page

360 photo album

my sample videos

I bought the older version because the image sensor has twice the pixels and uses them when taking pics to produce a 30 MP image which rivals anything I've seen so far under $700.

First issue was just getting it. I found one for just $72 but they kept extending the ship date. I finally just cancelled and ordered from a different seller for $20 more.

Next after getting it I found it would not work with my phone. I could swear that when I originally ordered it it said it worked with a Samsung Note 4 but after receiving it and finding it would not I went back and checked and only Note 5 and newer Samsungs were listed. To see if your phone is supported try installing the Samsung Gear 360 (New) app. But no worries there is a remote you can buy right?  The Aobelieve Bluetooth Remote Shutter for Samsung Gear 360 2016 and 2017 Edition Camera which works well. For remotely pushing the record button anyway which is the main thing. It was $3 off with 2 day shipping so I went ahead and got it even before I saw what kind of pics I was going to get.

While waiting on the remote I took a couple test shots to try out the software. Unfortunately like the Mokacam it appears you might not be able to get the software any more.  The site you download software for Samsung cameras from has been down for a week at this point of this writing. The camera outputs photos and video in the dual fisheye format like the Mokacam 360. I gather if you have one of the few models this and the newer model cam are supposed to work with the phone converts (stitches) it to the postable standard equirectangular projection format the newer / better cams output.  Googling I did not find a lot of options either. AutoPano has closed its doors so you can not even buy it though the site is still up. I looked on Alternatives. I tried a few but unfortunately most seem to want separate files they can stitch into a panorama, not a 360 sphere. PTGui is suppose to convert the dual fisheye directly. I downloaded the trial and tried several options but none came out right. Finally found a way to convert the photos at least. A free online service called nadirpatch.com. Though the seams are pretty obvious, if the angle is right you might hide them. See 360 photo album. So I still need a better solution or the camera is one step away from useless. In several places Samsung refers to the software as CyberLink ActionDirector so I went to CyberLink. There it shows ActionDirector is for video and PhotoDirector is for photos so I downloaded a trial of that from them. (After having to create a new account before I could run the software because they seem to think my password changed at some point since 2011.)  But again that does not seem to work with 360 files. So back I went for ActionDirector which seems to require an account to even download the trial. While it appears it is not the same as the Samsung version it does appear to be using it as a base. This video shows how you are supposed to use the Samsung version to convert / stitch the videos but the CyberLink version says the files are corrupt and will not even open them. This post shows how ActionDirector should also convert / stitch your photos as well but the CyberLink version just imports them as is. What it does seem to do is let you view them as 360 pics but with worse stitching than the nadirpatch.com option. Compare the screengrab here.
With the nadirpatch.com stitched version on Flikr. And this still does not get you to something postable.

I was about to just give up on this when I stumbled upon a post from 2010 in a CNet forum that says the hostname has changed to downloadcenter.samsung.com.  This camera came out out in 2016 they were using the wrong host name for download links a good 6 years after it changed and they are still wrong today! This is the link to download the Samsung ActionDirector software.

So I got the Samsung software installed. Note it is so close the the stock Cyberlink version that you have to close the Cyberlink version to install it.  After registering it hung trying to import sample media. Restarting again I selected a new 360 VR Video project

That let me import the pics but only if I have not edited them in Photoshop. As you can see here the 2 I increased the contrast on failed to convert on import though nadirpatch.com did. It is not obvious but ActionDirector converts on import and sticks them in the export directory. You need to right click on the files to open the folder to see them if you are not sure where that folder is.
On the plus side the ones it converted do look better than when converted with nadirpatch.com. And I was able to convert some sample videos. Though the videos are not great. Full screen even on a 27 inch monitor they pretty pixelated. Especially when the cam is moving. But then like I said at the start I was mainly interested in the 30 MP photos since I was already disappointed in the video Kodak PIXPRO SP360 4K Dual Pro Pack VR Camera which was about twice the vertical and horizontal resolution of the Samsung. You will notice they both suffer from a shallow depth of field and focus fixed about 10 feet from the lens. The photo resolution and quality are pretty much the same though.  The Kodak was $850 when I bought (and then returned) it back in 2016. It is going the $350 now. Which is what the Samsung was going for back in 2016.

I added some sunset and indoor sample pics to my Samsung Gear 360 album

Editing is non standard. To edit the pics read Now you can edit 360 photos in Photoshop … here's how

Wednesday, October 24, 2018

Moving a domain

Updated from these instructions.  Why moving from GoDaddy to Google? See price comparison.

Go to the Godaddy domain manager.

Find the domain to move and when you hover over it the check in the lock column becomes and edit link
Set the lock to off

Click on the domain name and remove privacy. Note before removing check that the email is valid and working.
Scroll to the bottom and click on Transfer domain away from GoDaddy

Scroll to the bottom again and fill out form. Note the most popular options are oddly not in the drop down choices of where you are going to.

Click Continue with transfer and you get this last screen


This may take awhile. You should get an email when done.

Note too GoDaddy seems to give you a blank screen when you try and go back to the domain list to do the next one. You might need to go back to products page then select Manage button on the next domain to transfer the next one.

Once you get that email, go to Google domains and start transfer


That gets you to a page to enter the code GoDaddy emailed you.


Enter the code and click continue and you get this

You probably want to use their nameservers. Click continue And they will confirm you want privacy ans tell you the price.
Note your $12 on Goggle includes privacy unlike GoDaddy where a .biz is $21 for the domain PLUS $10 for privacy.
Pay on the next screen. Then back to the transfer page where this domain has been added to list looking like this.
Note that is says it could be a week before it is truly final and may require a confirmation to and email so keep an eye on it.

Once the process is done it is a good idea to double check your DNS entries to make sure nothing got lost or changed along the way.

Here is a quick compare of the costs for my domains. Note where TLD not available price is shown as $9999
Obviously registering them on the cheapest for each could save you some and Namecheap's average cost (3rd from bottom) and total cost (2nd from bottom) is a bit cheaper than Google but given the yearly diff is less than $20 and I like Google's management tools better it seems worth it just to have everything in together at Google.