Monday, May 11, 2020

Java app code generators

What I'm trying to do

Clear back in 2005 I wrote my first app to get CRUD pages for a web app from a quick look a the DB metadata. I've done it again  many times since. Always with an eye to making my task easier instead of a generic app. Every time I first look to see if anyone has done somehting similar for the framework I'm using for that project but it always turns out the be easier to just write something myself than the tools I found. Since I've been doing a lot of stuff with containers lately I though it would be good to be able to quickly spin up POC apps for project demos so I'm looking at generators again.

For this POC I started with a simple SQLite DB with just 2 tables. Shows and Networks.

Options tried

The Eclipse market place just lists a couple and I heard about others. Really only Telosys in the market place seemed to be used by more than a few people.

Spring Initializr

Creates a basic project template but need classes created. There are lots of Spring Boot classes on Lynda.com though and it does give you a projects with most of the dependencies you might need.

Telosys

The plugin seems have a lot of downloads and the screen shots look promising but there appears to be no documentation at all. I messed with a bit but

JMR

It is from a Chinese developer and only downloaded 39 times so that is probably a deal breaker right there. On the other hand it at least has documentation to get you started. But it seems to be mainly a GUI for creating JSP style templates to gen code from so again not sure how much of a time saver it would be.

New JPA project

My first issue was I was using  Spring Tools 4.3 from a previous project and creating a JPA project was not even an option.

From the Eclipse Oxygen I tried it just hung creating the project. After about 30 minutes or so it FINALLY unstuck. I generated the beans  per the instructions and got something close. That step went pretty fast but for the overhead I do not see it as worth it for just a few tables.

While I was waiting to see if Oxygen would ever return I downloaded the latest Spring Tools 4.6. But again creating a JPA project is not a option. (Granted I could keep installing tools till I got something to work or it stopped working but the point was to find something simpler than just writing my own code.)

In the end it seems to do "OK" if you do not have (or at least tell it you have) association between tables. Even then though you need to tell it what class to use for every field or it makes them all Objects. It also seems to fail if you do not tell it the id field. So still probably as much trouble to config as to just create the POJOs by hand.

g9 Database Import

Another POJO generator. Does not support SQLite though.

Speedment

To start you use their initializer instead of the Spring Boot one.

It wants Maven 3.5.3 (release Feb 2018) or better to run so that meant a newer IDE.
Note the newer Eclipse zips seem to have an error in them which means you need to manually edit the config.ini or use the installer.

After installing and running the generate tool on the 2 tables with defaults settings I had 91 files generated. I had to "disable" some other tables left over from importing the sheets into the DB. That left me with 46 files for the 2 tables. Note rerunning the tools removes the files for the "disabled" tables. Unfortunately the rest interface it generates appears to be broken and just gives you 404s.

JHipster

The one class there was for it on Lynda.com can not be accessed via LinkedIn Learning. Not sure what is going on there but does not bode well. I wanted to look at it first but was turned off this. But after trying the above I decided to give it a try.
I followed these instructions for setup. Note when running the generator the docs are a bit out of step with what is on screen starting at step 13.
Note I was missing several things it needed and had to run
npm install rimraf -g
npm install webpack (note the missing -g as it expects it to be below the app folder)
npm install write-file-webpack-plugin
npm install webpack-merge
npm install browser-sync-webpack-plugin
npm install browser-sync
npm install webpack-notifier
npm install xml2js
npm install copy-webpack-plugin
npm install html-webpack-plugin
npm install rxjs
npm install merge-jsons-webpack-plugin
then run jhipster again. Fortunately it remembered where it errored out each time.
After all that the java code did not build
ERROR in Entry module not found: Error: Can't resolve 'angular2-template-loader' in 'D:\eclipse-jee-2020-03\workspace\BugTrackerJHipster'

ERROR in Entry module not found: Error: Can't resolve 'angular2-template-loader' in 'D:\eclipse-jee-2020-03\workspace\BugTrackerJHipster'

ERROR in Entry module not found: Error: Can't resolve 'style-loader' in 'D:\eclipse-jee-2020-03\workspace\BugTrackerJHipster'

ERROR in   Error: Child compilation failed:
  Entry module not found: Error: Can't resolve 'html-loader' in 'D:\eclipse-jee-2020-03\workspace\BugTrackerJHipster':
  Error: Can't resolve 'html-loader' in 'D:\eclipse-jee-2020-03\workspace\BugTrackerJHipster'

  - compiler.js:76
    [BugTrackerJHipster]/[html-webpack-plugin]/lib/compiler.js:76:16

  - Compiler.js:300 compile
    [BugTrackerJHipster]/[webpack]/lib/Compiler.js:300:11

  - Compiler.js:510 applyPluginsAsync.err
    [BugTrackerJHipster]/[webpack]/lib/Compiler.js:510:14

  - Tapable.js:202 next
    [BugTrackerJHipster]/[tapable]/lib/Tapable.js:202:11

  - CachePlugin.js:78 Compiler.<anonymous>
    [BugTrackerJHipster]/[webpack]/lib/CachePlugin.js:78:5

  - Tapable.js:206 Compiler.applyPluginsAsyncSeries
    [BugTrackerJHipster]/[tapable]/lib/Tapable.js:206:13

  - Compiler.js:507 compilation.seal.err
    [BugTrackerJHipster]/[webpack]/lib/Compiler.js:507:11

  - Tapable.js:195 Compilation.applyPluginsAsyncSeries
    [BugTrackerJHipster]/[tapable]/lib/Tapable.js:195:46

  - Compilation.js:680 self.applyPluginsAsync.err
    [BugTrackerJHipster]/[webpack]/lib/Compilation.js:680:19

  - Tapable.js:195 Compilation.applyPluginsAsyncSeries
    [BugTrackerJHipster]/[tapable]/lib/Tapable.js:195:46

  - Compilation.js:671 self.applyPluginsAsync.err
    [BugTrackerJHipster]/[webpack]/lib/Compilation.js:671:11

  - Tapable.js:195 Compilation.applyPluginsAsyncSeries
    [BugTrackerJHipster]/[tapable]/lib/Tapable.js:195:46

  - Compilation.js:666 self.applyPluginsAsync.err
    [BugTrackerJHipster]/[webpack]/lib/Compilation.js:666:10

  - Tapable.js:195 Compilation.applyPluginsAsyncSeries
    [BugTrackerJHipster]/[tapable]/lib/Tapable.js:195:46

  - Compilation.js:662 sealPart2
    [BugTrackerJHipster]/[webpack]/lib/Compilation.js:662:9

  - Tapable.js:195 Compilation.applyPluginsAsyncSeries
    [BugTrackerJHipster]/[tapable]/lib/Tapable.js:195:46

  - Compilation.js:605 Compilation.seal
    [BugTrackerJHipster]/[webpack]/lib/Compilation.js:605:8

  - Compiler.js:504 applyPluginsParallel.err
    [BugTrackerJHipster]/[webpack]/lib/Compiler.js:504:17

  - Tapable.js:289
    [BugTrackerJHipster]/[tapable]/lib/Tapable.js:289:11

  - Compilation.js:507 _addModuleChain
    [BugTrackerJHipster]/[webpack]/lib/Compilation.js:507:11

  - Compilation.js:390 errorAndCallback.bail
    [BugTrackerJHipster]/[webpack]/lib/Compilation.js:390:4

  - Compilation.js:413 moduleFactory.create
    [BugTrackerJHipster]/[webpack]/lib/Compilation.js:413:13

  - NormalModuleFactory.js:235 factory
    [BugTrackerJHipster]/[webpack]/lib/NormalModuleFactory.js:235:20

  - NormalModuleFactory.js:60 resolver
    [BugTrackerJHipster]/[webpack]/lib/NormalModuleFactory.js:60:20

  - NormalModuleFactory.js:191 asyncLib.parallel
    [BugTrackerJHipster]/[webpack]/lib/NormalModuleFactory.js:191:21

  - async.js:3888
    [BugTrackerJHipster]/[async]/dist/async.js:3888:9

  - async.js:473
    [BugTrackerJHipster]/[async]/dist/async.js:473:16

  - async.js:1062 iteratorCallback
    [BugTrackerJHipster]/[async]/dist/async.js:1062:13

  - async.js:969
    [BugTrackerJHipster]/[async]/dist/async.js:969:16

  - async.js:3885
    [BugTrackerJHipster]/[async]/dist/async.js:3885:13


error Command failed with exit code 2.
info Visit https://yarnpkg.com/en/docs/cli/run for documentation about this command.
error Command failed with exit code 1.
info Visit https://yarnpkg.com/en/docs/cli/run for documentation about this command.
error Command failed with exit code 1.
info Visit https://yarnpkg.com/en/docs/cli/run for documentation about this command.
If you find JHipster useful consider supporting our collective https://opencollective.com/generator-jhipster

Server application generated successfully.

Run your Spring Boot application:
 ./mvnw (mvnw if using Windows Command Prompt)
events.js:183
      throw er; // Unhandled 'error' event
      ^

Error: ERROR! webpack:build failed.
    at Environment.error (C:\Users\avata\AppData\Local\Yarn\Data\global\node_modules\generator-jhipster\node_modules\yeoman-environment\lib\environment.js:157:40)
    at module.exports.error (C:\Users\avata\AppData\Local\Yarn\Data\global\node_modules\generator-jhipster\generators\generator-base.js:2064:18)
    at module.exports.end (C:\Users\avata\AppData\Local\Yarn\Data\global\node_modules\generator-jhipster\generators\client\index.js:410:18)
    at Object.<anonymous> (C:\Users\avata\AppData\Local\Yarn\Data\global\node_modules\yeoman-generator\lib\index.js:399:25)
    at C:\Users\avata\AppData\Local\Yarn\Data\global\node_modules\run-async\index.js:25:25
    at new Promise (<anonymous>)
    at C:\Users\avata\AppData\Local\Yarn\Data\global\node_modules\run-async\index.js:24:19
    at self.env.runLoop.add.completed (C:\Users\avata\AppData\Local\Yarn\Data\global\node_modules\yeoman-generator\lib\index.js:400:11)
    at runCallback (timers.js:794:20)
    at tryOnImmediate (timers.js:752:5)



Tuesday, March 24, 2020

Review: Making water at home

Note I started this post to tell people about alternatives to bottled water but because of the SARS-CoV-2 (Covid-19) outbreak most of the items are already sold out. You might be able to find similar items though or after sanity comes back.

Mentioned in this post

Mophorn Water Distillers Countertop 4L BPA-Free Container 750W Digital Control Distilling Water Machine for Home with Handle Upgrade
BN-LINK 12 Hour Mechanical Accurate Countdown Timer with Grounded Pin - Energy Saving for Kitchen, Phone Charger, Lamps, Security 1875W, 1/2 HP, ETL Listed
ZeroWater (ZBD-040-1) 40 Cup Ready-Pour Glass Dispenser, BPA-Free, with Free Water Quality Meter, NSF Certified to Reduce Lead and Other Heavy Metals
Beverage Dispenser Replacement Spigot,Oak Leaf Stainless Steel Spigot Polished Finished, Dispenser Replacement Faucet
ZeroWater ZD-018 ZD018, 23 Cup Water Filter Pitcher with Water Quality Meter
ZeroWater Replacement Filters 12-Pack BPA-Free Replacement Water Filters for ZeroWater Pitchers and Dispensers NSF Certified to Reduce Lead and Other Heavy Metals
Etekcity Digital Handheld TDS Meter , +/- 2% High Accuracy, 0-9990 ppm (Blue)

The issue

I'm on a well and the water that comes out of it is HARD as in averages in the mid 300s on a water purity meter AFTER going through the water softener. It also has Hydrogen Sulfide in it from time to time. So I store up water for the animals to use during the H₂S times. I was drinking mainly bottled water but hated all the extra plastic. (See my Drinking water post about testing the various brands and types. You will probably be surprised.( I bought a ZeroWater ZD-018 ZD018, 23 Cup Water Filter Pitcher with Water Quality Meter to try and avoid that but a filter was yielding me less than 9 gallons of water. Even buying the 12 pack of filters at $118 that comes out to over a dollar a gallon plus you have the filter to dispose of. Hard to say which has waste but the filters weight about 464 grams and a gallon water bottle about 70 grams. (Not including packaging.) Of course some of the filter weight is not plastic and it is compressed where the bottles will take some effort to get to the same size package and so on. Either way neither seemed like a good choice.

My setup

What I came up with

Step 1

I had decided on distilled water for bottled water from earlier testing I started thinking why not just distill the water? After reading reviews I figured out the base models are not very good. What you need is a model you can adjust the heat on and a timer to make sure it does not run dry. Here is the water I started with. It is hard to see but this is a relative soft batch at 284.



Starting with the review and then doing a bit of experimentation it appears the the temperature dial and read outs on the distiller might be off a bit. I set the dial right at 100C but it says it is cooler.


Then I set the timer for 3 hours. (Which is a good deal shorter than the 4 to 5 hours in reviews and still distilled almost all the water.) That gives me water purer then most of the bottled waters on the market.



This is what is left behind. I poured some of the less than 1/2 inch left in the boiling chamber into a beaker for this pic. That is 8260 on the meter! I did not notice till I was posting this the 10x indicator in the low left of the LED readout. Kind of shows why you do not wan this to boil dry withe a 320 degree auto shutoff like the base models do. Way too much of this ends up in your output.


Estimates were around 50 cents of electricity per gallon in review so it could be way cheaper too. I appear to be running it cooler and shorter than most so maybe even better.

Step 2 (optional)

You probably want something to hold s the water and possibly filter it. Which lead me to getting the ZeroWater (ZBD-040-1) 40 Cup. From the reviews the valve on this is junk so you will want an after market spigot too. This give me a 2+ gallon buffer ready to use water as pure as the distilled bottled water (zero on the meter) and the filters should last a long time since the water going in is pretty pure to start with I'm keeping tabs on how many gallons I get from a filter so we'll see if it is all worth it. More to come.

Thursday, January 16, 2020

Review:Firewalla

From the info on the website it appeared I could use the one feature of the Firewalla Blue I wanted. Something to monitor what things the devices on my IoT network are talking to and give me a notification if they try and connect to something unexpected. Essentially monitor if any device may have been co-opted and or is trying to co-opt. It did give me alerts for remote sites my Wyze cams, Echos and SmartThings hubs connected to along with every new device it saw. But the Firewalla seems to insist on inserting itself via arp spoofing and messes with DNS which caused all kinds of issues. Among the top things I noticed were:

Alerts from antivirus software about bad arp packets. That would be kind of expected but why it does this even with most of the feature disabled is unclear. All is should need to do is log traffic like Wireshark and only need arp spoofing to try and stop traffic. Same with DNS.

Despite claims it works with Unifi it seems to have caused all kinds of issues with APs and switches not getting heartbeats to the controller and generally dropping data so the topology map was only showing a few devices and those all connected directly to the router. The client listing would often show the wrong AP/Port for a device.

Some security cams started having issues staying connected too. I'm to the point this morning I'm shutting it down so we'll see if the camera issues correct or were a coincidence. 

So if you are looking for something simple to monitor your home network of a few devices and the ISP provided router this might work well for you. If your network is at all advanced beyond basic, give it a pass.

Thursday, December 26, 2019

Acer Desktop Aspire TC TC-780-UR11 Intel Core i7 7th Gen 7700 (3.60 GHz) 8 GB DDR4 1 TB HDD Windows 10 Home


Newegg link

Stars: 2

Pros:

Good price for an 8th gen i7 PC.

Cons:

Can't run Linux
Even swapping the HD seems almost impossible
No visible POST
No display in BIOS menus of some basic values like installed RAM

Overall:

So far I managed to get the system to boot up with Windows on the HD is came with but when I tried to stick in another drive and install CentOS 7 on it I was surprised to find out I could not. Google CentOS and SpeedStep and TurboMode. Anyway I left it sit for awhile till I needed another Windows PC to upgrade my oldest Blue Iris server. For this one I want an SSD for the boot drive to match the other 4 servers but no go. Wasted almost 2 days not trying to get Windows 10 restored or install on the SSD but best case it finished with no network available and then crashes with Whea_Uncorrectable_Error when I try to login. Not that I could anyway because when you set up the PC if forces you to use your outlook.com login which requires the network. Other accounts are disabled so if you did not set one before you made the restore. I tried it one last time adding some local account and recreating the recovery USB but still could not even get to a login prompt.

I found conflicting info on whether or not is supports a M.2 SSD but this seems to confirm it does support some. But when I ran the tool they mention all I found was a max width of 1 which I gather would be as slow as the HD.

So I went back to the HD is came with (which works fine BTW) and added memory and a medium range graphics card like I used in the Dells. Unfortunately the graphics card requires a 6 pin power connector which this system also does not have.

So I broke down and ordered another Dell. I'll see about using it for something else later and update this then.

Wednesday, November 28, 2018

Samsung Gear 360 Real 360° High Resolution VR Camera (2016 version)


Samsung Gear 360 Real 360° High Resolution VR Camera

support page

360 photo album

my sample videos

I bought the older version because the image sensor has twice the pixels and uses them when taking pics to produce a 30 MP image which rivals anything I've seen so far under $700.

First issue was just getting it. I found one for just $72 but they kept extending the ship date. I finally just cancelled and ordered from a different seller for $20 more.

Next after getting it I found it would not work with my phone. I could swear that when I originally ordered it it said it worked with a Samsung Note 4 but after receiving it and finding it would not I went back and checked and only Note 5 and newer Samsungs were listed. To see if your phone is supported try installing the Samsung Gear 360 (New) app. But no worries there is a remote you can buy right?  The Aobelieve Bluetooth Remote Shutter for Samsung Gear 360 2016 and 2017 Edition Camera which works well. For remotely pushing the record button anyway which is the main thing. It was $3 off with 2 day shipping so I went ahead and got it even before I saw what kind of pics I was going to get.

While waiting on the remote I took a couple test shots to try out the software. Unfortunately like the Mokacam it appears you might not be able to get the software any more.  The site you download software for Samsung cameras from has been down for a week at this point of this writing. The camera outputs photos and video in the dual fisheye format like the Mokacam 360. I gather if you have one of the few models this and the newer model cam are supposed to work with the phone converts (stitches) it to the postable standard equirectangular projection format the newer / better cams output.  Googling I did not find a lot of options either. AutoPano has closed its doors so you can not even buy it though the site is still up. I looked on Alternatives. I tried a few but unfortunately most seem to want separate files they can stitch into a panorama, not a 360 sphere. PTGui is suppose to convert the dual fisheye directly. I downloaded the trial and tried several options but none came out right. Finally found a way to convert the photos at least. A free online service called nadirpatch.com. Though the seams are pretty obvious, if the angle is right you might hide them. See 360 photo album. So I still need a better solution or the camera is one step away from useless. In several places Samsung refers to the software as CyberLink ActionDirector so I went to CyberLink. There it shows ActionDirector is for video and PhotoDirector is for photos so I downloaded a trial of that from them. (After having to create a new account before I could run the software because they seem to think my password changed at some point since 2011.)  But again that does not seem to work with 360 files. So back I went for ActionDirector which seems to require an account to even download the trial. While it appears it is not the same as the Samsung version it does appear to be using it as a base. This video shows how you are supposed to use the Samsung version to convert / stitch the videos but the CyberLink version says the files are corrupt and will not even open them. This post shows how ActionDirector should also convert / stitch your photos as well but the CyberLink version just imports them as is. What it does seem to do is let you view them as 360 pics but with worse stitching than the nadirpatch.com option. Compare the screengrab here.
With the nadirpatch.com stitched version on Flikr. And this still does not get you to something postable.

I was about to just give up on this when I stumbled upon a post from 2010 in a CNet forum that says the hostname has changed to downloadcenter.samsung.com.  This camera came out out in 2016 they were using the wrong host name for download links a good 6 years after it changed and they are still wrong today! This is the link to download the Samsung ActionDirector software.

So I got the Samsung software installed. Note it is so close the the stock Cyberlink version that you have to close the Cyberlink version to install it.  After registering it hung trying to import sample media. Restarting again I selected a new 360 VR Video project

That let me import the pics but only if I have not edited them in Photoshop. As you can see here the 2 I increased the contrast on failed to convert on import though nadirpatch.com did. It is not obvious but ActionDirector converts on import and sticks them in the export directory. You need to right click on the files to open the folder to see them if you are not sure where that folder is.
On the plus side the ones it converted do look better than when converted with nadirpatch.com. And I was able to convert some sample videos. Though the videos are not great. Full screen even on a 27 inch monitor they pretty pixelated. Especially when the cam is moving. But then like I said at the start I was mainly interested in the 30 MP photos since I was already disappointed in the video Kodak PIXPRO SP360 4K Dual Pro Pack VR Camera which was about twice the vertical and horizontal resolution of the Samsung. You will notice they both suffer from a shallow depth of field and focus fixed about 10 feet from the lens. The photo resolution and quality are pretty much the same though.  The Kodak was $850 when I bought (and then returned) it back in 2016. It is going the $350 now. Which is what the Samsung was going for back in 2016.

I added some sunset and indoor sample pics to my Samsung Gear 360 album

Editing is non standard. To edit the pics read Now you can edit 360 photos in Photoshop … here's how

Wednesday, October 24, 2018

Moving a domain

Updated from these instructions.  Why moving from GoDaddy to Google? See price comparison.

Go to the Godaddy domain manager.

Find the domain to move and when you hover over it the check in the lock column becomes and edit link
Set the lock to off

Click on the domain name and remove privacy. Note before removing check that the email is valid and working.
Scroll to the bottom and click on Transfer domain away from GoDaddy

Scroll to the bottom again and fill out form. Note the most popular options are oddly not in the drop down choices of where you are going to.

Click Continue with transfer and you get this last screen


This may take awhile. You should get an email when done.

Note too GoDaddy seems to give you a blank screen when you try and go back to the domain list to do the next one. You might need to go back to products page then select Manage button on the next domain to transfer the next one.

Once you get that email, go to Google domains and start transfer


That gets you to a page to enter the code GoDaddy emailed you.


Enter the code and click continue and you get this

You probably want to use their nameservers. Click continue And they will confirm you want privacy ans tell you the price.
Note your $12 on Goggle includes privacy unlike GoDaddy where a .biz is $21 for the domain PLUS $10 for privacy.
Pay on the next screen. Then back to the transfer page where this domain has been added to list looking like this.
Note that is says it could be a week before it is truly final and may require a confirmation to and email so keep an eye on it.

Once the process is done it is a good idea to double check your DNS entries to make sure nothing got lost or changed along the way.

Here is a quick compare of the costs for my domains. Note where TLD not available price is shown as $9999
Obviously registering them on the cheapest for each could save you some and Namecheap's average cost (3rd from bottom) and total cost (2nd from bottom) is a bit cheaper than Google but given the yearly diff is less than $20 and I like Google's management tools better it seems worth it just to have everything in together at Google.

Monday, October 22, 2018

Mokacam 360

I've added a Youtube playlist of my 360 cam videos

Draft 5/14/2018


Well my Mokacam 360 FINALLY showed up over a year after the scheduled ship date. Still waiting for the accessory kit as of 5/14/2018. It also appears to be a Vivitar DVR988-BLK 360 Action Camera, which is getting equally bad reviews. with a metal plate front and back to cover it. Maybe to hid the name? The Vivitar is the same price and also claims to be high rez but only does video at 960p. This pic gives you an idea of the quality. Note stills are 3008 by 1504.

You even have to convert the video and pictures so anything sees them as 360 after getting them off the camera. Note you still need 360 support to view them as 360 so this does not appear as 360 here.
I'll use at the next show but probably not going to be worth the bother after that. Might be worth using for valley shots if the remote ever gets here. (See update below for how bad that went.)

The Mokacam 360 is a disappointment on many levels.
First off it was over a year late shipping.
When it did get here the app did not work at all. Fortunately the Vivitar app does though it seems to lose connection a lot even a couple feet from the camera.
The video is really poor but then it is only doing 960 X 960 on each lens despite it obviously having 1504 x 1504 sensors. I can only imagine for image stabilization though there is not mention of this. But it you think about it there really is not much you can do with that low of resolution.
This is a nice explanation of relative resolutions Now think about your average cheap 720p (1280x720) security cam that has a horizontal viewing angle of around 70 degrees and you still can not really make out anything of any distance on them. They are OK on a small screen and for seeing things close, like a Ring Doorbell for instance. That is 1280 pixels over 70 degrees or about 18 pixels per degree. This is 960 pixels over more than 180 degrees so you are talking 4 to 5 pixels per degree. So just to match the video quality of that cheap 720p camera you really need 3240 x 3240 pixels. 4K will get you there on the horizontal but not the vertical. And that is just one side. You really need about 12K video to pull off the same level of quality in full 360 x 360 you would get from 720p.

Note on their Indiegogo page they claim 30fps@2K and infer that is the same as the Samsung Gear 360 but it is not. Note too the Samsung Gear 360 (2017 Edition) Real 360° 4K VR Camera (US Version with Warranty)  has an MSRP of $229, is going for $89 with one day free shipping (on 10/22/2018) and the price seems to be on a downward trend. The reported record resolution for the Samsung is 4096x2048 @ 24fps 360° Video/15MP 360° pictures. Just goes to show how shipping late blows your market. There is also the GoPro Fusion — 360 Waterproof Digital VR Camera with Spherical 5.2K HD Video 18MP Photos which sounds like it is a bit better but at $600 it might not be worth it. You also might want to look at this page for other options.




Update 10/22/2018

I did get my accessory pack a week or so later and managed to get a quick test video done on the 3rd try that was stitched correctly but then forgot how I did it when I had some show footage to try it on. (See further on.)  So I left this post on hold. I used the Mokacam 360 again at a show a couple weeks ago and thought I'd take another shot at it.

I was making another go at it today and decided to go looking to see if any updates or advice had been posted. I ended up posting my frustration (see below) the projects Indiegogo page. Where it seems they are still failing to fulfill orders:
The post: Anyone ever got this thing to record in higher than 1920 by 960? Or found any settings other that record mode? Checked site for new firmware but there appears to be apps, firmware and manual for only one of their 4 models and this cam is not it. Only other thing on support page is “Forum under maintenance”. Website is so painfully slow it appears to be on the verge of crashing. Of the 2 Mokacam apps in the Google store only one sees the camera and it says it is the wrong one for the camera.

Still searching around in frustration I stumbled upon the Mokacam 360 Windows app I must have downloaded at some point (which appears to no longer be available anywhere and is probably why I was getting nowhere). If I view the video and pics in that app they look OK. This made think about a comment I made above in May about needing to convert the video, despite the Indiegogo page saying this is done in camera with no post processing needed. Sort of hidden in this no longer available player app is the needed converter. The icon is a pair of scissors cutting film down in the lower left. When you click on that you get this.


Click on these links to see the raw and converted videos these pics were taken from.

The above raw file looks like this in Windows Movie & TV player


In Mokacam 360 player in the default mode (Saturn like icon) it looks like this.
Not real useful but some people seem to like it.

In 360 mode you get this.
Funny the stitching is best at a distance yet the lot many of these cameras the best focus is within a few feet.

In world view it starts out looking like this
But you can zoom in world view (unlike 360 view). At max zoom it looks like this.

After converting the video it looks even more zoomed like this in Windows Movie & TV app even though zoom no longer works.
Note this added zoom also tends to make the video look more blurry and pixelated.

Now for a real test

Doing the conversion takes about as long as playing the file even on my heavy duty workstation and the output is dubious. There appears to be a merge option but the camera drops frames. As in a full one to two seconds lost between clips. So you will want to do them one at a time. Manually as there seems to be no batch convert mode. Note even my Canon G30 drops the occasional frame but this is up there with my junky Crosstour 4K Go Pro clone.

Here is a shot of my timeline with screen grabs (in violet) filling the missing frames between two clips of a "continuous record".

Click on these links to see the raw and converted videos the below pics were taken from.
To compare with the Kodak PIXPRO SP360 4K Dual Pro Pack VR Camera see my samples from that camera in this playlist.

In the Mokacam 360 player app this unconverted concert video looks like this
Note the lack of a gap that appears in the next picture

Here is a shot of that raw file in flat mode in Windows Movie & TV player

Even in 360 / VR mode unconverted it looks like this with that monster gap
The above is not that clear (low light is iffy to start with) but here is a shot from the same video after processing in flat mode
Basically it stretches out the circles to fill the frame so the less than 960 x 960 pixel circular is down rezed even more.  Now when viewed in 360 / VR mode it looks REAL low rez.

Lastly for comparison here is a screen grab of the final rendered video
See what I mean about the added zoom making thing worse?

If you want to edit this in Premiere CC Pro here is how.

I suggest you make a multicam to sync the video with decent audio. I say this because the cam drops frames. Though if you are not going to need to sync multiple sources you can skip this. Otherwise
select the audio track first. (If audio is more than one file make a sequence from the parts first then use that as the audio.) Create multicam sequence by selecting sync on audio, then all the video clips, right click and select create multicam.
Note your Sequence Preset should be custom 1920x960 @ 30 fps for the Mokacam 360


Based on Support for VR Workflows

VR sync as above then
Select clips
Clip->Modify->Audio Channels (Shift+G)


Goto Interpret Footage tab and set options like this


Same with Sequence -> Sequence Settings


To rotate the picture to where the front of the camera was pointing add the VR Projection effect to your clips and pan -90 degrees


Make other adjustments as needed to center and align default view on subject.

Export settings should be like


Again this final rendering is very slow. The 11 minute video above took about 8 hours to render.

How about pictures

As stated above pictures are 3008 by 1504 which is between 2K and 4K.  Pictures seem to require that conversion step as well. Here is a raw picture

And the converted picture.

You will notice neither seems to be viewing as a 360 picture. For that you have to upload the converted picture to a site like Flikr. Click here to see the converted and the raw pictures on Flikr.